Coat of Arms Laser Engraved Pen

18Jun08

I have always been fascinated by the Coat of Arms hanging on the wall in my father’s house. After a little on-line searching, I was able to find a source for Heraldic art that I could modify to be compatible with my laser engraver.

 

Coat of Arms laser engraved pen 

http://www.woodenpenworks.com/coat-of-arms-engraved-pen.html

 The Coat of Arms begins as a color version, approximately 4″ x 5″. That’s a little too big to fit on a pen. The trick is to get it small enough, while retaining just enough detail to engrave successfully. If you leave too many features, they start to run together, and the design becomes a big blob. After doing enough of them, you get to know what works and what doesn’t. 

  I currently have list of over 11,000 available names including Irish, English, Scottish, Welsh, French, German, Spanish and Portuguese heraldry. The designs get modified  as needed. There is no way I could do the entire library in advance. 

 The pen itself is hand made from Bethlehem Olive Wood. The wood engraves very well, and I have been able to pick through my inventory to get pieces that have some nice clear sections. I have tried several other wood types, but their grain makes the result unpredictable. Hickory for instance. Some of the grain engraves more deeply, and results in deep grooves within the pattern.

 Who wouldn’t like to see their family crest engraved on a beautiful hand made pen?  I am selling these for $65.00 on my web site. Considering the time that goes into the preparation, and the fact that you can’t get one anywhere else on the planet, I think that is reasonable. Like anything else, value is in the eye of the beholder.

One Response to “Coat of Arms Laser Engraved Pen”

  1. Nice Coat of Arms Pens! Are you interested in selling them on a wholesale basis?


Leave a Reply

