Handcrafted Pens made from Dupont Corian

02Apr07

  While most hand crafted pens are made from wood, there is another material that you should consider trying.

 Dupont Corian. Yes, the very same material used in counter tops. Corian is a great looking material, that comes in over 100 colors.

 Starting out, I had my hands full just trying to perfect my technique with wood, but I was intrigued by some pictures I had seen of Corian Pens.

 In searches for pen blanks on ebay, I kept seeing Corian blanks, but they were only 1/2 inch wide. Most of my pens were finishing around that thick, and my drilling was pretty shaky at best, so I just passed them by. I then read of a guy who was gluing the 1/2 inch pieces together to make thicker blanks, with virtually invisible glue lines. That’s all I had to hear. I went to ebay, found a huge assortment, and placed my order.

My aim, was to glue 4 pieces together for a 1 inch square, but there were so many different colors in the collection I bought, that I could only match up a couple of groups of four.  I glued up what I could, and began making pens.

  To my pleasant surprise,  Corian  is fairly easy to work with. Since there is no grain, your drill doesn’t tend to wander. It is a little tougher than many woods, so be sure to keep your chisels sharp.

 This is a pen from my original group of Corian blanks:

Green Corian Pen

 I quickly used up all of my 1 inch blanks, but still had a big box full of Corian. Then I saw a segmented wooden pen that  Kenn Osborne put on line, along with a tutorial.

http://www.penturners.org/content/OsborneSegPen.pdf

 With a little practice, I started getting some good results from my Corian glue ups. With so many complimenting colors, the combinations are virtually endless.

I think the results speak for themselves:

Corian Patchwork Pens

You can see more of my pens at:

http://www.woodenpenworks.com

wpenw

No Responses Yet to “Handcrafted Pens made from Dupont Corian”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

